Wednesday, July 7, 2010

Caribbean qualifying for the CONCACAF Gold Cup to start August 18

Caribbean qualifying for the CONCACAF Gold Cup will open August 18 in Antigua and Puerto Rico and finish with the Digicel Caribbean Championship final in Martinique on November 28, the CFU announced Tuesday.

Sixteen teams will open the competition in four groups of four at Puerto Rico, Antigua & Barbuda, Barbados and the Dominican Republic with the group winners and two best runners-up advancing to a second round.

They will join second-round hosts Guyana, Grenada and Guadeloupe as well as seeded sides Netherlands Antilles, eight-time champion Trinidad & Tobago and Haiti in three groups of four, from which the winners and runners-up will qualify for a final group stage.

No comments:

Post a Comment